Best Border For A Newbie?

Decorating By cindylou2 Updated 21 Apr 2011 , 6:00pm by tina27a

cindylou2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cindylou2 Posted 20 Apr 2011 , 6:40pm
post #1 of 10

I'm just a beginner and enjoy making cakes and cupcakes for my family. My mom has asked me to make her birthday cake this weekend so I've been searching plenty of sites for ideas and tips and techniques.
I wanted to try a basketweave on the side but I think that may be too much for me. So I'm just going to add a border buit cant decide between dots or shells. I do stars all the time so want something different.
Can you tell I'm just a novice? LOL

9 replies
Unlimited Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Unlimited Posted 20 Apr 2011 , 6:53pm
post #2 of 10

Dots or shells are an excellent choice.

Dots are the easiestcan't go wrong, just remember to flatten out the points with your finger or your finger dipped in cornstarch or powdered sugar.

You might want to practice the shell border first, to make sure your shells are consistent in size and length before piping on the cake.

cindylou2 Posted 20 Apr 2011 , 6:58pm
post #3 of 10

Thanks so much for replying. I've just spent the last few minutes checkign out the borders thread and being impressed with all the borders that can be done. So awesome! I will stick with the dots for now. My mom wants a white cake, with white buttercream icing and since her fave colour is yellow, maybe I can alternate the dots with white and yellow.
Would yoou do dots on top too?

cakesmart Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesmart Posted 20 Apr 2011 , 7:06pm
post #4 of 10

Ditto on the dots and shells...easies to master in a short period of time!

Unlimited Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Unlimited Posted 20 Apr 2011 , 7:10pm
post #5 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cindylou2

Would yoou do dots on top too?

If you are referring to dots on a top border toosure, why not!