Cake Glue

Decorating By YummyCreations Updated 21 Apr 2011 , 1:51am by Bluehue

YummyCreations Posted 20 Apr 2011 , 2:01am
post #1 of 10

I'm fairly new to cake decorating and I'm still trying to figure out the best products to use. I decorated a fondant covered cake with a fondant cake decoration (not a flower) and was told to use Royal Icing, but the decoration fell off during dinner. Luckily I was there and had some RI with me to reattach it, but I'm worried this might happen to a cake when I'm not around to fix it. So I would like to know what's the best adhesive to use for the following?

Attaching fondant decorations to fondant covered cake - specially heavy or large decorations to the sides of a cake w/o them falling off?

Attaching fondant decorartions to buttercream covered cake - specially heavy or large decorations to the sides of a cake w/o them falling off?

Thank you!!!!!!

9 replies
Karen421 Posted 20 Apr 2011 , 2:17am
post #2 of 10

I switched to using chocolate for "gluing" most things - especially the heavy ones. thumbs_up.gif

grandmomof1 Posted 20 Apr 2011 , 2:21am
post #3 of 10

I use water or clear lemon extract to apply my decorations to the side of the cake. I put over 400 teal pearls to the sides of a wedding cake, traveled one and a half hours in 85 degree weather and not one fell off. I carried plenty extra with me because I was expecting a few to fall off.

On the heavy decorations, I usually insert a toothpick or skewer in the decoration while I am making them to help support the weight on the sides. This definitely has to be done while your fondant is soft.

Kitagrl Posted 20 Apr 2011 , 2:32am
post #4 of 10

Heavy decorations I use a toothpick and royal...fresh lightweight decorations I just use a dab of water.

Karen421 Posted 20 Apr 2011 , 11:34am
post #5 of 10