Cricut Cake Disaster!

Decorating By MadKat Updated 21 Apr 2011 , 3:31am by JanH

MadKat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MadKat Posted 19 Apr 2011 , 5:28pm
post #1 of 14

I am new to Cake Central, but I have found some really helpful tips here, so please if you have any magic tips up your sleeves for using the Cricut Cake I could sure use them now! I talked my husband into getting me one because I just new it was going to make my life easier and I couldn't have been more wrong! I can't get it to work right at all! Gumpaste is to stretchy, Fondant is to sticky out of the freezer and I tried the Cricut frosting sheets last night and they did well, if I wanted HUGE images on my cake!

I have a wedding cake due May 20th and the bride has already picked the "Cricut" designs she wants on her cake, and I am now in a PANIC!!!!

PLEASE! Any advice is welcome! icon_cry.gif

13 replies
Smokey5266 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Smokey5266 Posted 19 Apr 2011 , 5:50pm
post #2 of 14

I used a 50/50 of wiltons fondant and gumpaste. I roll it super thin and let it sit for about 20 minutes. After I run it through the machine I pop it in the freezer for 10 minutes. Works like a charm!

mimido Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mimido Posted 19 Apr 2011 , 6:09pm
post #3 of 14

I have use mmf in my cricut, but i do let it sit for awhile after I have rolled in on the cutting mat and it does fine. The more you play with the cricut the easy it will be, and you'll find whats works best.

sam777111 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sam777111 Posted 19 Apr 2011 , 6:28pm
post #4 of 14

I swear by Duff fondant rolled very thin, but not so thin it can be seen through. Then pop in the freezer for 15 min. It's then perfect for cutting even the most minute detail!

Karadactyl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Karadactyl Posted 19 Apr 2011 , 6:28pm
post #5 of 14