Need Your Help!!!

Decorating By Cupcakeboy85 Updated 19 Apr 2011 , 4:18am by CWR41

Cupcakeboy85 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cupcakeboy85 Posted 17 Apr 2011 , 11:10pm
post #1 of 13

I just recieved an order about doing a tiered cake mind you I have never done one before in my life! I told my friend that I was able to do it. The occasion is her mother 50 birthday on july 9th and the colors she want is black ,silver and white plus the number of people attending is 150 people. I told her I will call back for pricing but how much do I charge for this and what size pans should I get have. She also wants a vanilla cake with vanilla custard and fondant

I'm nervous and excited at the same time I think I can do this. Please help!!!

12 replies
Ursula40 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ursula40 Posted 17 Apr 2011 , 11:28pm
post #2 of 13

Tiered cakes aren't that difficult. Do you have any pictures to show us? It's more difficult to advise, if we don't know what you have made before

Foxicakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Foxicakes Posted 17 Apr 2011 , 11:38pm
post #3 of 13

As far as the color combo goes, check out some of the cakes in kwebbeltje gallery. ( Just go to the tab for photos and then click on the search link there and type in her username where it says to find photos by a specific member.) She does some beautiful work with that color combination. As for learning to stack the tiers, there are tons of how-to videos on youtube. I would recommend the one by tonedna1, she is awesome and really explains things very well. And, as for choosing the size of the layers, you can do a search on "cutting a wedding cake" here on CC and that should pull up a cutting guide that will show you how large the tiers should be and how many you will need, etc Hope that helps you!! Good luck. . . BTW, since this will obviously be an important cake for your friend, I would definitely recommend practicing--especially the stacking part. Again, good luck!!