All Cried Out

Decorating By platinumlady Updated 1 May 2011 , 8:30am by cutiepiecupcake

platinumlady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
platinumlady Posted 17 Apr 2011 , 6:28am
post #1 of 15

A friend came back to town to celebrate her birthday & ask me to make her cake. I was excited & super ready to give her a great birthday cake. I changed the decoration on the cake 3 times. Finally got it to a cake I would be proud of. Left my camera in the car so I took a couple of quick pics with my cell phone & boxed it getting ready to take it to the party.

As I was caring the cake the weight shifted & I couldn't figure out why ... so I put the box down & the whole cake had slid. For some reason I put a smaller cake board under the bottom layer & than sat it on top of the cake drum. I've never done that before & not sure why I did it this time. It was a 3 Tier covered in fondant with some buttercream accents on top.

There was no saving the cake. I had already left the Kitchen & no else was left at the building. I tried to put the cake back in the center & it just slide back. I couldn't do anything but cry icon_cry.gif. This cake took so long to make & decorate. I was at the kitchen 6 hrs today let alone the 5 hrs from yesterday.

Every time I talked to someone about it I just broke down even more. My friend and her sisters kept saying we just gonna eat it don't worry about it. One said she couldn't tell how it was messed up....I think they were just trying to make me feel better. I didn't want them to even put the cake out. I'm just glad it was in a dark corner. I'm sooo mad at myself I can't believe I did something so stupid. I think I would have felt better if I had dropped the cake who knows.....

Sorry so long I pray this never happens again

14 replies
Beckup Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Beckup Posted 17 Apr 2011 , 8:12am
post #2 of 15

I'm sorry this happened to you. Remember, we are our own worst critics. Maybe it's really not as bad as you think.