Orange Dreamsicle Recipe Change??

Baking By MrsMoe07 Updated 17 Apr 2011 , 8:15pm by KATHIESKREATIONS

MrsMoe07 Posted 16 Apr 2011 , 6:07am
post #1 of 11

Ok so I'm a newbie and already addicted!! I was going through the gourmet flavors post that has been going for 2 years WOW and I noticed the recipe has changed. Does anyone know why? Should I go with the recipe that's saved on the google doc or the recipe that MacsMom posted back in 2009?

I know its crazy that I was going through the post, but I wanted to see what was going on that topic was still getting buzz 2 years later, lol.

10 replies
MacsMom Posted 16 Apr 2011 , 6:54am
post #2 of 11

The original orange dreamsicle was taken in part from the "Cake Doctor" book - the "melted ice-cream" cake. While very good, it was too moist for most anything but a 9x13, so I adapted it to fit the WASC recipe, making it more carvable and stackable.

Since then, CC'ers have experimented with using OJ and diet orange soda, all with good results. I prefer the melted sherbet, but I add extra orange flavoring for more oomph.

Stacie

caymancake Posted 16 Apr 2011 , 8:58am
post #3 of 11

I just recently tried it out (wasc method) using an orange cake mix instead of white, swapping out orange soda for the liquid, orange cream yogurt for the sour cream and also used orange extract. Tastes like an orange candy! It was yummy and great orange colour too!

JulieMN Posted 16 Apr 2011 , 4:12pm
post #4 of 11

I use MacsMom's version on the google doc using the orange soda. It is one of my family's favorites!

MrsMoe07 Posted 17 Apr 2011 , 2:36am
post #5 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacsMom

The original orange dreamsicle was taken in part from the "Cake Doctor" book - the "melted ice-cream" cake. While very good, it was too moist for most anything but a 9x13, so I adapted it to fit the WASC recipe, making it more carvable and stackable.