New To Fondant, Modeling Etc. Please Help...

Decorating By mrslivvix Updated 18 Apr 2011 , 3:27pm by mrslivvix

mrslivvix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrslivvix Posted 14 Apr 2011 , 2:19pm
post #1 of 8

I've been making cakes for years and I'm a second generation cake maker in my family but I'm new to any fondant, gumpaste, etc for modeling figurines or people. I would really like to start incorporating these type of things into my cakes however I am really at a loss for what works best, how to mix gumpaste with fondant, tylose etc. I've watched a few tutorials on youtube but I guess being a newbie at it I'm a little scared. I'm still not too good at knowing all the lingo also...like MMF (marshmallow fondant), Rkt or rtk?, I know I'm a moron haha! But any help would be great! I'm an artist at heart and hands but being a perfectionist makes me crazy when doing anything I can't do well. I wanna be one of these ppl that post crazy beautiful cakes made with fondant and all the pretties they put on them. Please tell me the "rules" for what works best. icon_confused.gif Thank you!!

7 replies
terrylee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
terrylee Posted 14 Apr 2011 , 2:34pm
post #2 of 8

I use 1/2 and 1/2 fondant and gumpaste. I found books on clay modeling figures and animals a great tool. they have step by step instructions. Youtube has a lot too and quite helpful...

Just jump in and start. practice, practice, and more practice.... you sound talented...you will do fine...we all have our style of figures, flowers and cakes that match our personalities.

Also check in the galleries for fondant figures....lots of examples......good luck and enjoy.

SweetCakesbyAmy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetCakesbyAmy Posted 14 Apr 2011 , 3:03pm
post #3 of 8

MMF= Msrshmellow Fondant

Marshmellow fondant is really easy to make (tastes alot lot those easter peeps) you can find the reciepes here on CC in the reciepe section

RKT= Rice Krispy Treats