Steps To Becoming An Llc??

Business By Erdica Updated 15 Apr 2011 , 12:40am by jason_kraft

Erdica Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Erdica Posted 14 Apr 2011 , 11:32am
post #1 of 11

I am sure this has been asked before, but search came up with nothing.

I want to move my business to an LLC. I just have some questions for those who have done this.

1) Did you go through a lawyer or do it yourself?
2) If you did it yourself, what website did you use?
3) What kind of cost am I looking at for this (approx)?

I am sure I'll have other questions. Thanks for all your help!

10 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 14 Apr 2011 , 12:10pm
post #2 of 11

I used a lawyer. And I used a lawyer because I just do not believe in dealing with legal issues on my own .... I'm not a lawyer and even tho' I watch a lot of Law-n-Order, I am not going to risk missing "something" that will cost me in the long run.

Many CCer's have posted they've done their own LLC paperwork, so it can be done.

Just my personal opinion that legal issues should be handled by a lawyer, medical issues should be handled by a doctor, etc......

bethasd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bethasd Posted 14 Apr 2011 , 12:57pm
post #3 of 11

I did it myself through the PA Dept. of State Corporation Bureau. It was $125 and I used the website www.paopen4business.state.pa.us/ It is a little confusing so I did a workshop at the Chamber of Commerce beforehand which I found very helpful. Good luck!

RussellsCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RussellsCakes Posted 14 Apr 2011 , 6:55pm
post #4 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bethasd

I did it myself through the PA Dept. of State Corporation Bureau. It was $125 and I used the website www.paopen4business.state.pa.us/ It is a little confusing so I did a workshop at the Chamber of Commerce beforehand which I found very helpful. Good luck!

I wish I was in PA! I'm in Texas and just filed mine, it cost $300!