Starting Out....

Business By SweetCakesbyAmy Updated 13 Apr 2011 , 11:28pm by homebasedbaking

SweetCakesbyAmy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetCakesbyAmy Posted 13 Apr 2011 , 2:56pm
post #1 of 11

So I have been a hobby baker for many years and lately I have been selling a few cakes to my friends and family. Everyone has encouraged me to get business cards so they can tell their friends about me.

Question is.... can I still be a hobby baker that sells an occassional cake and have business cards? Am I missing a step? Do I need to "get legal?" I never plan on owning my own business but earning a few extra bucks now and then is nice.....

I just dont want a business card to end up in the wrong hands and get a huge fine or get in tons of trouble. i just wanna bake cake.....

10 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 13 Apr 2011 , 2:59pm
post #2 of 11

In KY yes, you need to be legal. You can't accept money for a cake with having "the paperwork" (being legal).

And yes, you don't know who will eventually see that biz card. If a HD inspector sees it, you'll get a visit. (Something similar happened to me and now I'm completely legal.)

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 13 Apr 2011 , 3:07pm
post #3 of 11

KY does allow commercial home-based baking, you need to contact the KY Dept of Health to register:

http://chfs.ky.gov/dph/info/phps/food.htm

Quote:
Quote:

Once registered, home-based processors may process whole fruit and vegetables, mixed-greens, jams, jellies, sweet sorghum syrup, preserves, fruit butter, fruit pies, cakes, cookies and bread in their farm kitchens.
For more information or to receive an application packet, please contact Mark Reed by phone at 502/564-7181, extension 3677 or by e-mail ([email protected]).

Don't hand out business cards until you are registered. You will also need to get business liability insurance to protect yourself.

SweetCakesbyAmy Posted 13 Apr 2011 , 3:55pm