Home Based Businesses:doa Inspection Or Zoning First?

Business By tigachu Updated 14 Apr 2011 , 4:29am by scp1127

tigachu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tigachu Posted 13 Apr 2011 , 2:27am
post #1 of 24

I want to ask the opinion of the legal bakers (especially those in VA). I want to become legal in my state. If you look at my photos, you are probably asking who would even buy my products icon_surprised.gif . I am working on my decorating skills! Especially for cakes icon_redface.gif I have been baking for a few years and I really love it. It took a while of trial and error to understand the science behind all of this. I still have so much to learn about scratch baking and baking in general.

When I started a new job years ago, I started bringing my "goodies" in; loaves of bread, cinnamon rolls, SMBC, mango/lime/lemon curd, mousse, pastry cream, muffins, dinner rolls, cupcakes, danishes, loaf cakes, cookies, and samples of iced (not decorated) cakes. I drilled everyone to find out how to improve until I was completely happy with my recipes and techniques. I get requests for these items all the time but I turn them down because I do not want to make anything for free and I do not want to break the law either icon_cool.gif .

To become legal, I will need to go through the Department of Agriculture and zoning. I am working on the packets for both now. I have to petition my zoning board because I live in a town house, which could take 6-12 months icon_eek.gif and cost about $400. Which would you choose to do first? I would want to know if I can pass the inspection from the Department of Agriculture but it won't matter if zoning won't approve.