Basic Cake Carving Recipe Needed!

Baking By lsz1978 Updated 15 Apr 2011 , 6:10am by sweet_affliction

lsz1978 Posted 11 Apr 2011 , 7:35pm
post #1 of 7

Hi, I am new to Cake Central and am a self-taught baker and cake designer. I have just started a business and need a new basic cake recipe for cake carving... sturdy yet moist! I would also like to be able to alter the recipe to create new flavors, etc. Does anyone have any suggestions or thoughts? I would also like the recipe make enough batter to create a cake that serves 25-30 peopleicon_smile.gif!

I'd greatly appreciate any recipe suggestions or advice!

Thanks!

6 replies
srkmilklady Posted 11 Apr 2011 , 8:04pm
post #3 of 7

This cake is very popular here on CC and the flavours can be changed to almost anything you can think of. It is in the recipe section.

http://cakecentral.com/recipes/7445/the-original-wasc-cake-recipe

lsz1978 Posted 11 Apr 2011 , 8:11pm
post #4 of 7

thank you both! i checked out the recipes and they sound similar to the one i already haveicon_smile.gif. i was trying to find a "from scratch" recipe, but there seem to be so many out there... i can't decide what to try! that's why i came to you allicon_smile.gif! if you have a recommendation for a from scratch recipe that you think will work, please let me know!

again, thanks for your replies!

sweet_affliction Posted 14 Apr 2011 , 6:18am
post #5 of 7

Hi there!

I was recently surfing the net and found a truy amazing from scratch cake!
it's called the ultimate coconut cake but you can ommit the flavor and just make it vanilla
ngredients
Coconut Cake (UCC PG RC):
1 lb Pure Irish Butter - Unsalted
3 cup Sugar, Granulated
6 large egg Large Egg
4 1/2 cup All Purpose Flour
1 1/2 tbsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Salt
1 1/2 cup Heavy Cream, Fluid
1 1/2 tbsp Vanilla Extract
Simple Syrup (UCC PG RC):
3/4 cup Water
3/4 cup Sugar, Granulated
Coconut Filling (UCC PG RC):
5 cup Heavy Cream, Fluid
3 cup Sugar, Granulated
1 lb Pure Irish Butter - Unsalted