What Is The Reason For Using Flower Nail When Baking Cake?

Baking By sweeteypie1118 Updated 13 Apr 2011 , 6:12pm by mplaidgirl2

sweeteypie1118 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweeteypie1118 Posted 11 Apr 2011 , 5:28pm
post #1 of 13

I am very new to this and taking Wilton classes now. I was reading all the wondeful tips in the tips thread and saw mention of using a flower nail in your pan when baking your cake. I didn't see exactly what the purpose of it was. Could someone please explain to me what it is for and how to do it correctly? Thanks so much!

12 replies
Sorelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sorelle Posted 11 Apr 2011 , 5:42pm
post #2 of 13

Especially in larger cakes the outside will cook faster than the center because it is closer to the metal pan which conducts heat, the nail when placed in the center of the cake being metal will also conduct the heat making the center cook faster so the cake is more evenly cooked. Be sure to coat the nail with cake release all over before putting it in cake.
hth

StephW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
StephW Posted 11 Apr 2011 , 5:44pm
post #3 of 13

The purpose is to help cakes bake more evenly in the middle. Same principle as a heating core for large cakes but you only have a little hole from the nail.

To use it, you place the nail upside down in the pan before you pour in the batter. I grease the nail as well as the pan, but I don't think everyone does. You can use more than one nail for the larger cakes and place them evenly around the pan.

Sorelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sorelle Posted 11 Apr 2011 , 5:48pm
post #4 of 13