Underpricing Cakes

Decorating By Krista512 Updated 10 Apr 2011 , 5:00pm by CWR41

Krista512 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Krista512 Posted 7 Apr 2011 , 7:24pm
post #1 of 12

Moved to the Cake Decorating forum. (JanH)

Split from this thread in Business forum:

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-714674.html

thanks. I have that problem i am just starting out and i have "underpriced my cakes so i can get more experience since im self taught and not a trained decorator with a degree. I know my ability and that I am so detail oriented and a perfectionist that I need to account for the work I will do. all my friends keep telling me to up my prices. even though i am not getting many orders for now cause the few bigger orders that do come in will bring references and eventually they will come. i need to stop trying to throw my self to every small birthday party. I just realized this yesterday when i had a lady want a fully fondant cake custom made with a hand molded monkey and atleast 50 tiny molded and painted bananas for less than $50 i just cant do it. thanks I will save this for inspiration

11 replies
mplaidgirl2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mplaidgirl2 Posted 7 Apr 2011 , 7:36pm
post #2 of 12

The people that want to value you will. I started off under charging by ALOT. People were tipping me telling me I charge too little. I uped my prices to what I was charging with what most people were tipping me and They are still giving me extra money. It might be because I'm in NYC and here we tip for everything and anything. But either way I learned my lesson and no longer pay myself minimum wage! All my cakes start at $60 no matter what now. And I even put a minimum on my cupcake orders of 2 dozen

Krista512 Posted 7 Apr 2011 , 8:58pm
post #3 of 12