Science Theme For Baby Shower Cake?

Decorating By CookiesintheCupboard Updated 8 Apr 2011 , 1:13pm by ycknits

CookiesintheCupboard Posted 6 Apr 2011 , 11:12pm
post #1 of 11

Hello there!
I am new to CakeCentral and am amazed at all the talent found here! I am learning different cake techniques as I go, so please bear with me. icon_smile.gif
I have a 3 layer (9" rounds) cake to decorate tomorrow with (requested) buttercream frosting for a baby shower. The shower will be held at a high school by the science department (it is for a chemistry teacher). I'm thinking of going the easy route with fondant sleeping baby on top (although I've never done it) or baby booties (again - a new one for me), but if anyone has any science-y ideas, I'd love to hear them!

Thanks a bunch! icon_smile.gif

10 replies
ycknits Posted 6 Apr 2011 , 11:37pm
post #2 of 11

Baby figure in a lab coat wearing safety goggles?? Maybe with a flask in his/her hand?

CookiesintheCupboard Posted 6 Apr 2011 , 11:57pm
post #3 of 11
Originally Posted by ycknits

Baby figure in a lab coat wearing safety goggles?? Maybe with a flask in his/her hand?

Oh that is just too cute! I'll see if I can pull that off -- thank you!!

DeezTreatz Posted 7 Apr 2011 , 2:10am
post #4 of 11

The baby with the blanket would be easy - just roll a ball for the head - and make a rectangle ball shape for the body and cover it with a blanket icon_smile.gif
I've tried making booties before and it was a fail! Rattles are easy and super cute - with a nice ribbon on them icon_smile.gif

I like the above ideas - a baby with a lab coat on or a teddy bear topper with a lab coat..
You could make some beakers boy and girl on them if they don't know the sex yet!

Kitagrl Posted 7 Apr 2011 , 2:23am
post #5 of 11

How fun! Be sure to make the lab coat oversized on the baby. Haha.

How about a beaker with a bottle nipple on top....

Baby's butt covered in a diaper with a "hazardous" symbol on the back haha.