Bad Tasting Recipes

Baking By eparm25 Updated 7 May 2011 , 10:15pm by eparm25

eparm25 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
eparm25 Posted 5 Apr 2011 , 10:55pm
post #1 of 7

Hi all! I have been decorating cakes for about 3 years now but I have always used box mixes. Lately, I have been wanting to try some from scratch cakes and I just cannot find a good recipe. I don't know if it is just the way I am doing it but the last 5 recipes I have tried all turn out the same way... One has even been a Paula Dean pound cake recipe and they all have a weird after taste along with just a dull flavor! I don't know what to do because it us getting expensive trying out these recipes to not even get to enjoy eating them! Someone please help me lol thank you!

Emily

6 replies
Elcee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elcee Posted 5 Apr 2011 , 11:15pm
post #2 of 7

Really, you just have to keep trying until you find recipes that work for you. There are bad recipes out there. If you find a source you can trust, all the better. I have two old (early 80s) cookbooks that I got as wedding gifts that are my go to sources for scratch cake (and many other things). They are the Better Homes and Gardens and Good Housekeeping Illustrated. I also use the Chocolate Snowball by Lettie Halloran Flatt (for my high altitude needs). No matter what other recipes I try, I keep going back to those. I love Martha Stewart's fillings and frostings, cakes not so much. I wouldn't waste time or ingredients on a Paula Deen recipe.

Good luck!

SweetCakesbyAmy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetCakesbyAmy Posted 11 Apr 2011 , 6:50pm
post #3 of 7

When I transferred over from box cakes to scratch cakes I had a hard time adjusting. The box cakes seem to taste more sweeter and the from scratch were good..but not what im used to. I now prefer to cook from scratch and can tell when I get served a box cake.