Making A Quilt, How To?????

Decorating By sarahkate80 Updated 7 Apr 2011 , 6:08pm by aprilismaius

sarahkate80 Posted 5 Apr 2011 , 7:18pm
post #1 of 9

I need to make a bed cake for my grandmother's 90th birthday. My family wants me to put one of her quilts on it. How do I do this? Do I cut each little piece and patch it together? If so, how? HELP ME!!!

8 replies
KarenOR Posted 5 Apr 2011 , 8:40pm
post #2 of 9

I guess it depends what it looks like. I would probably do it in white and then paint it.
You can use the tool that looks like stitching when you roll it over a surface.

SammieB Posted 5 Apr 2011 , 10:22pm
post #3 of 9

I would probably choose the simplest quilt she has! The more elaborate the fabric, the harder it will be to detail. Shapes are easy enough to paint, or even cut out of fondant, but the little details on fabric prints would be pretty hard to mimic I would think.

If it were me (and I'm a total novice and this may sound INSANE to some of you), I'm not confident enough in myself to paint the whole thing, or patch on the cake itself. I would probably roll out a big piece of white fondant, and then add cutouts of the shapes in various colors on top, and pattern it like a quilt. Then I would go over it with my fondant roller and smoosh (very technical term) it flat very easily so the patches were all even. Then I would roll it over my roller and transfer to the cake. I wouldn't try to make it completely flat on the cake either, but leave it slightly rumpled and draped off the cake edge so it looked more like fabric. Maybe I'm crazy, but I have had luck before doing something on a much smaller scale to add detail instead of having it sit on top of the other fondant.

Edited for spelling icon_smile.gif

sarahkate80 Posted 5 Apr 2011 , 11:18pm
post #4 of 9

Thanks, guys, pray for me on this one!!

bakingkat Posted 6 Apr 2011 , 5:10am
post #5 of 9