Pricing And Mini Rant

Decorating By nanefy Updated 5 Apr 2011 , 11:40pm by June_m

nanefy Posted 5 Apr 2011 , 2:14pm
post #1 of 14

Hey guys,

I'm just taking the foray into a cake decorating business. I've been making cupcakes for a couple of years and have started making celebration cakes/wedding cakes. I haven't made a huge amount of stacked cakes, however I am improving with every single cake. Anyway, everyone loves my cakes, I get rave reviews but my issue is that people just have NO CLUE how much work and skill goes into making a cake. Everyone assumes that because they can buy a store bought cake for about £10 that the two tier BASIC cake you're offering for £120 is outrageous! Firstly, I make all my cakes from scratch - I only use genoise (I don't do novelty or shaped cakes so I can get away with using genoise), that is soaked in simple syrup using compound flavourings (which are not cheap), it is then filled with swiss meringue buttercream then covered in ganache and then Massa Ticino fondant. My whole ethos is that I want my cakes to be as amazing inside as they are outside. I only use the best ingredients I can find (where possible) and I flat out refuse to use hydrogenated vegetable fat and I HATE standard buttercream - I hope I am not offending anyone, but to me it's my worst nightmare. A lot of people I know who don't like birthday/wedding cake have changed their minds after tasting my cakes because the SMBC is so much lighter and less cloyingly sweet than a standard BC and in my area, I don't think there is a single cake decorator who uses SMBC/IMBC so people are generally surprised when they taste my cakes because IMO SMBC is a lot like a whipped cream, very light and sweet and not at all sickly. Anyway, my point is that, there is a lot of skill that goes into making cakes and I price accordingly.