Can Someone Give Insight On Why This Happens?

Decorating By Bret727 Updated 6 Apr 2011 , 1:37pm by ycknits

Bret727 Posted 4 Apr 2011 , 7:23pm
post #1 of 15

I am a beginner and trying to figure out how to alleviate problems through trial and error, but I can't seem to figure this out. I thought at first I was putting too much buttercream between the layers but that definitely isn't the case now. I am referring to the buckle in the top tier. Thank you in advance for your comments icon_smile.gif

14 replies
wiggler Posted 4 Apr 2011 , 7:27pm
post #2 of 15

Cant see your photo icon_smile.gif

Bret727 Posted 4 Apr 2011 , 7:30pm
post #3 of 15

Here is the link. Sorry. It didn't upload.

Claireybear1121 Posted 4 Apr 2011 , 7:35pm
post #4 of 15

Hi Bret,
I didn't see a photo posted but I thought I'd give your question a stab anyway.

I think you are possibly referring to either the filling between layers bulging out, OR the edge of the top layer dropping downward. For either of these problems my biggest recommendation would be to make sure your cakes are very level. What I have found is that the closer the cake layers themselves are to my final desired shape, the less fussing with fillings/buttercream I'll have to do in the end.

If the problem is with bulging (like the fillings or frostings are bulging out from between layers, it is important to make sure you have piped a dam of really stiff buttercream or ganache all the way around the edge of the bottom layer. Even still though, if the layers you started with were domed in the middle, regardless of how stiff your BC dam is, your cakes will still droop.