What Do You Think??? Long...

Decorating By hollys_hobby Updated 3 Apr 2011 , 2:16pm by rainyone

hollys_hobby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hollys_hobby Posted 1 Apr 2011 , 7:26pm
post #1 of 22

Hey fellow cakers!! I am looking for your opinions please!!
Here is my situation. I have been making cakes as a hobby for about 9 months for friends and family. It has completely become my passion! For the last 3 months I have been looking to go into business. Our original plan was to convert our den in our house into a bakery. After much planning, I found out you can not have a pet, ever, in a building that houses a domestic kitchen, even though it would be completely closed off from the rest of the house. icon_sad.gif I was heart broken, as getting rid of our cat isn't an option (it's our daughter's cat and she is very closely bonded to him). So, I have been looking for a kitchen to rent, the only "shared" kitchen I found is 45 minutes away and would be incredibly difficult as I am a stay at home mom of 2 kids.
About 2 weeks ago, a cupcake shop opened in my town. She only does cupcakes and small individual desserts, no cakes. She is solo, no employees yet. I don't have a desire to do cupcakes, as I feel my niche is really in specialty fondant cakes. Many people have told me I should talk to her about sharing space. Since her and I do completely different things, I don't see her as competition.
There is no other place within an hour or more of me that does what I do.
If you were the owner of the cupcake shop and someone like me approached you about renting your kitchen, how would you preceive that and what would your thoughts be? My plan would be to have my own license, my own insurance, and be by appointment only. I wouldn't use her case or cash register or any of her front area, just her kitchen... Thoughts and opinions PLEASE!!! icon_smile.gif thanks!

21 replies
Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 1 Apr 2011 , 7:45pm
post #2 of 22