Lettering With Molds

Decorating By jewordsoflife Updated 31 Mar 2011 , 10:14pm by Coral3

jewordsoflife Posted 30 Mar 2011 , 2:52am
post #1 of 10

I was wondering if anyone has used the Wilton gumpaste and fondant mold set for letters and numbers. I tried it today and about lost my mind! I couldn't get them to come out (I even lightly greased them with crisco) and when i did they were a hot mess! Any tips would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks!

Oh, and as I am new to this sight, does it always run so slow? I'm assuming it's because there are so many users.

9 replies
Coral3 Posted 30 Mar 2011 , 11:10am
post #2 of 10

I'm not familiar with the Wilton ones, but I did just find this thread which might be of use to you:

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-583746-.html&sid=117460f96c8a40506df82f93a623af73

I have some First Impressions alphabet molds that I have long ago given up on. They're such a pain - Tappits are SO much easier.

Kiwi-whisk Posted 30 Mar 2011 , 6:30pm
post #3 of 10

I bought the FMM letter set it sounds similar it was frustrating at the start but you need to roll the icing really thin as you would for sugar roses, and use lot of dusting sugar and they come out perfectly, they are fragile but look lovely on cakes and boards. I purchased mine from squires kitchen

jewordsoflife Posted 31 Mar 2011 , 4:33pm
post #4 of 10

I'd first like to thank you both for replying to my post, it means allot to me that you took the time to help!!

Coral3-You're thread was helpful and I will definitely try the suggestions I found reading it!

I also got my FMM funky alphabet and numbers in the mail today and am excited to try them! I'll let you know my results for both. If all else fails, I can always do chocolate molds icon_smile.gif

THANKS AGAIN!

sk8ter72 Posted 31 Mar 2011 , 5:01pm
post #5 of 10

It also helps to put them in the freezer about 10 minutes. Also found out if you leave on in the mold overnight the pop right out!