Appropriate Professional Response?

Business By cutiepiecupcake Updated 31 Mar 2011 , 4:30am by coldtropics

cutiepiecupcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cutiepiecupcake Posted 28 Mar 2011 , 10:18am
post #1 of 11

Ok.. before I proceed, I just want to make it clear that I am in no way 'bagging-out' or venting about this potential customer's enquiry - she was very friendly and polite. My intention is to receive honest feedback regarding the way I have worded my response for future reference.
So the scenario was a common one - the customer attempting to 'bargain' with my quote by means of comparing mine with another she has received from a different baker. This has probably occurred many a time for most of you in business, however, it was a first for me as I am relatively new to business. I do not wish to negotiate my prices in this situation as I am offering her the base rate I charge without decoration and I have spent quite some time researching my competition and pricing my product according to my overheads etc.
Here is how the conversation played out:
My quote was as follows:
130 x regular sized cupcakes with swiss meringue buttercream or ganache swirl @$3 each
1 x 6"white choc mud cake covered and filled with white choc ganache and featuring a wall of white chocolate mud slates @$40
1 x cupcake tower hire @$15
Total = $445

Her response:
Hi........,

Thank you so much for quoting on the cupcakes and cake so quickly. What you are proposing sounds lovely however I have received another quote for $375, charging $2 per cupcake. Of course I totally understand that you may not want to revise your quote, but if you would like to you are most welcome as ........... will be a far better location for us to pick everything up.

I will look forward to hearing from you.
Have a great day,

My response:
Hi .........,