Newbie Who Needs Help!!

Decorating By vgereis Updated 25 Mar 2011 , 2:56pm by vgereis

vgereis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vgereis Posted 24 Mar 2011 , 2:51pm
post #1 of 11

Hi all!

As the subject suggests... I'm a newbie... to posting.. and to "serious" decorating! hehe! I started off by just loving to bake... and then for my son's recent 3rd birthday, I made him two cakes (both using shaped pans plus standard pans) and decorated with BC frosting. It was all quite "simple" in that the decorations were all "follow the instructions basic frosting tips" with only a bit of improv on my part. Since then, I made a very "rushed and basic" iphone shaped/bc decorated cake for my hubby.... and he loved it, and so did my friends... They all think I have the potential to turn this into a mini side-business.... I'm very critical of myself and don't think I have it in me just yet but am so eager to learn....

Anywayyy.... one of my friends asked me to make a cake for her hubby's birthday... except.... it will need to be carved... into a running shoe shape... and then decorated with fondant (which I've never used before! lol).... now... here are my questions...

I know that with fondant... you get a "neater" look... which is why we ended up choosing it despite the fact that it just doesn't taste as nice as the bc. However... just wondered if it's possible to combine the two? I mean... have bits that are buttercream, with finer details being done in fondant? Or will that be a recipe for disaster? Should I just put a layer of bc under the fondant?