Raspberry Cream Filling

Baking By sarascakecreations Updated 25 Mar 2011 , 10:10pm by holwhit

sarascakecreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarascakecreations Posted 24 Mar 2011 , 3:47am
post #1 of 8

Hello everyone,

So I have an order for a red velvet cake with raspberry filling. I've never done it before but it sounds like it would taste great.

Problem is the person wants a creamy type filling as apose to a fresh fruit or jam type filling. She's worried some guests won't like the fruit and she wants something light in color and a creamier taste.

So I googled a bit and got this:

Ingredients
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 8 oz package cream cheese, SOFTENED
1 15 oz jar rasberry all fruit jam
1 8 oz tub Cool Whip
How to make it
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Whip cream cheese in mixer
Add all fruit and combine well
Whip in cool whip
Refrigerate for 30 minutes to set.

It sounds good, and with it being cream cheese based should work well. Even if I used the recipe above I'd have to only use the jelly part of it and not the chunks of fruit as she doesn't want chunks in it.

Soooo I guess what I'm asking if there is any other recipe you think would be better? Should I just add a box of jello powder to my buttercream recipe? I love buttercream but I find it very sweet and sugary so I wanted something smoother and creamy for this filling. Or should I maybe mix some jam into my buttercream?

Please help... any suggestions as to if the recipe above would be good or a recipe of your own would be so much appreciated.

S.

7 replies
sarascakecreations Posted 24 Mar 2011 , 8:40pm
post #2 of 8

no one in cake central land have any suggestions??? icon_sad.gif

sillywabbitz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sillywabbitz Posted 24 Mar 2011 , 9:13pm
post #3 of 8