Painting With Food Coloring?

Decorating By TiffyB73 Updated 24 Mar 2011 , 6:01pm by shelxland

TiffyB73 Posted 23 Mar 2011 , 2:31pm
post #1 of 10

Can I dilute and paint with Wilton gel food coloring? If so, do I use water or something else?
I just want to add some dimension with a little color and I don't have an airbrush.

Thank you!

9 replies
pbhobby Posted 23 Mar 2011 , 2:45pm
post #2 of 10

I've never tried it with Wilton colors before but I would try a very small amount of vodka. I've painted many times with the Americolors gels just as it comes out of the bottle but never the wilton colors.

caymancake Posted 23 Mar 2011 , 3:04pm
post #3 of 10

I've done it with Wilton colours quite a few times. One of my Tampa bucs cakes, my teapot cake and one of my bridal shower cakes were all done with wilton gel colours mixed with vodka

pbhobby Posted 23 Mar 2011 , 3:16pm
post #4 of 10

TiffyB73, I would NOT add water. The paint will get runny and you'll end up with a gooey mess.

divinecc Posted 23 Mar 2011 , 3:47pm
post #5 of 10

I usually use it right out of the bottle, no vodka added (Wilton)

sully112099 Posted 23 Mar 2011 , 5:36pm
post #6 of 10

I wouldn't know make my frosting homemade all the time. I also get the colors on my own using the Wilton Colors. I am currently making a Bridal Shower Cake for my step daughters Shower, but the dresser are Watermelon Color. So to get the Watermelon Color anyone have any idea. So I can make the Watermelon Roses, and trace the Umbrella on the cake in Watermelon Color as well.

Please and thank you.

simplysouthern Posted 23 Mar 2011 , 5:55pm
post #7 of 10