Help With Size Of Cake Please! 350 People

Decorating By hickety883 Updated 23 Mar 2011 , 7:19pm by Cakepro

hickety883 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hickety883 Posted 23 Mar 2011 , 5:05am
post #1 of 7

Hey Guys, I am doing the cake for our local Grad class, as a gift to them, but I have never done a slab cake this big. They want just a rectangle slab cake for 350 people!!! How big do I make it? Any size dimension ideas?

There theme is also Moonlit Beach, if any of you have ideas for that as well! icon_smile.gif Thanks for the help, just a newbie here trying to help out the local grads!

6 replies
Cakepro Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakepro Posted 23 Mar 2011 , 6:03am
post #2 of 7

Wow, talk about trial by fire. And it's a gift to boot.

Unless you want to rent a truck to deliver it in and hire 4 brawny guys to carry it, I would advise against doing one single sheet cake to serve 350.

I suggest you do several half-sheet cakes....although personally, if I were in your shoes, I would insist on doing a multi-tiered cake. IMO, you can do a ton more awesome decorating on a multi-tiered cake than a flat sheet cake. And you could do many of the elements far in advance so when it's time to decorate the cake, you stick on your decorations, do some piping, and you're done. Another idea is a full sheet cake with a bunch of cupcakes.

But that's just what I would do. Since you're doing this as a gift, you should be able to have some say in the matter in what shape cake you are donating.

platinumlady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
platinumlady Posted 23 Mar 2011 , 7:03am
post #3 of 7

You can bake 5 - 12x18 Sheet cakes or 14x22 Sheet Cakes (if you have an oven that big) & decorate them sitting side by side with a continuous theme... Then you would just box them in different boxes and then place them together at the event. So when together (side by side) it will look like just one big cake.