Help With Charity Event Donation Request...copyright?

Decorating By Jessre611 Updated 23 Mar 2011 , 2:47am by homebasedbaking

Jessre611 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jessre611 Posted 22 Mar 2011 , 4:21am
post #1 of 3

I was recently asked to do a cake for a Relay for Life event after the committee saw a cake I made for a friend of mine's son. I gave him an Avengers cake with each Avengers done in colorflow on it for his birthday. The theme for this year's Relay for Life is Survivors and Superheros Saving the World, so they are interested in a sheet cake done with the superheroes in colorflow like on the cake for my friend's son.
They've asked for the cake to be donated which I will of course do for them, as I'm just a hobby baker and don't charge for my cakes anyway (other than the occassional friend who insists on paying me back for ingredients). My understanding has been that if you aren't selling any product you can do things such as the cake I did for my friend, but I am not sure about this cake. I would be donating it, but it's also for a decent sized event so I'm not sure if making all the actual super heroes is ok. Any advice would be appreciated! I'm really hoping to be able to give this super charitable group what they want!

2 replies
SecretAgentCakeBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SecretAgentCakeBaker Posted 22 Mar 2011 , 11:55am
post #2 of 3

Can you just make generic superheeros instead? Or what about regular people wearing a cape and a mask. Isn't It regular people that they want to make the donation, then that person is considered a supeerhero (in the case of this theme.)

If not, you would probably need to contact the copyright owners and get permission. I think that would be DC Comics.

homebasedbaking Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
homebasedbaking Posted 23 Mar 2011 , 2:47am
post #3 of 3