So Disappointed In Class...

Decorating By JenFailla Updated 20 Mar 2011 , 12:14am by hrnewbie

JenFailla Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JenFailla Posted 19 Mar 2011 , 9:43pm
post #1 of 13

Hi,

I've been decorating cakes for a while now and want to eventually make it my full time job. I've been self taught (with the help of trial and error, you lovely CCer's out there and youtube) thus far and have done fairly decent fondant custom cakes. However, I can't pipe a BC flower to save my life! icon_cry.gif

So, I enrolled in my local wilton class at Michael's. I was so excited to go and learn new things and boy was I ever disappointed!!! I signed up earlier in the week and purchased the supplies that I didn't already own and made up my sugar cookies, etc. like a good little student. I get to the class and the instructor tells us that Michael's was supposed to tell us that we didn't need anything on the first class and we wouldn't be needing the cookies at all. UGH!

Then we proceeded to sit there while the WMI basically tried to upsell us on all things Wilton. It felt like when the time share salesmen try to corner you into listening to their presentation while you are on vacation. I was so deflated.

I was at least hoping to do SOMETHING in the first class- I know this is for beginners and I'm not exactly that- but geesh! And I felt bad for the mother who brought her twin daughters to the class- she's spending a FORTUNE on things needed for this thing NOT included in the student kit. Luckily throughout the last year or so, I've purchased most of this stuff little by little. I'm wanting this to be more than just a hobby for me- but if it was just for fun?!?! Pretty pricey!!