Help:- My Figurines Are Melting

Decorating By hartcrew Updated 21 Mar 2011 , 3:36am by hartcrew

hartcrew Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hartcrew Posted 19 Mar 2011 , 9:21pm
post #1 of 14

I am new to cake decorating and have just made some Penguins, a snowman and some green tress for an igloo cake for my Grand Daughters BD.

I used ready rolled fondant and added the powder to make them dry quicker, I live on the Gold Coast and it is not even hot, it is raining and quite cool, I have left them on the table to dryout woke up this morning and they are so sticky ( almost melting )

I dont understand why this is happening what can I do to dry them out. Even the white snowman is sticky as without colouring in it, I used Wilton paste colours not liquid

13 replies
tania9 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tania9 Posted 19 Mar 2011 , 9:36pm
post #2 of 14

Hi icon_smile.gif it would probably be because of all of the moisture in the air, can you put the figures in a very dry area?
What did you put into the fondant? which brand was it?

I use this recipe for gumpaste http://www.gingerbread-house-heaven.com/gum-paste-recipe.html
very easy with excellent results.
The 1 sachet of gelatin equals about 7grams or 2 1/2 teaspoons

hartcrew Posted 19 Mar 2011 , 10:24pm
post #3 of 14

I think I should have used gumpaste, it is supposed to hold up better.
I used Wilton Colours in it and the powder that makes it go harder I cant remember the name. I have them sitting in front of a fan at the moment so I am hoping they will dry out a bit. I have been told it is because there is too much moisture in the air. You live and learn I suppose, I cant imagagine making them on hot days on the GC though LOL

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 19 Mar 2011 , 10:49pm
post #4 of 14