Help With Stand Mixers

Decorating By lilacc01 Updated 18 Mar 2011 , 11:55am by newbaker55

lilacc01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lilacc01 Posted 17 Mar 2011 , 6:48am
post #1 of 12

I am looking through Kitchen Aid Mixers on Amazon and there are soooo many different versions! What is the best one to get? I am just a hobbyist. Thank you so much!

11 replies
scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 17 Mar 2011 , 7:14am
post #2 of 12

Watch amazon for sales and rebates. I have three sizes. The pro 6 is the biggest and most powerful. I recently got an artisan to fill in with lighter jobs. One huge problem... when I make IMBC or french buttercream, it takes forever to come to room temperature and I finally figured out why. The smaller motor in the artisan heats up after awhile, preventing the whites or yolks from cooling down. i put the frozen vegetables around it, but what a pain. The pro 6 motor stays completely cool. I will never buy a smaller one again.

lilacc01 Posted 17 Mar 2011 , 8:23pm
post #3 of 12

Thanks for the help. I'm seeing those for about $320. That about average?

mfoxx9 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mfoxx9 Posted 17 Mar 2011 , 8:53pm
post #4 of 12

Check ebay. There will always be something on there. I kept bidding until I got the price I wanted. I think I ended up paying about $290, including shipping, last summer for my new pro 6. Also, keep in mind that some colors will be more/less expensive than others on Amazon. I am very happy with my mixer. I got the biggest because I didn't want to have to buy another one when I started to do bigger projects, and I had heard the best feedback about the pro models.

lilacc01 Posted 17 Mar 2011 , 11:51pm
post #5 of 12

Thanks! What do you guys think of getting a factory refurbished one?

wiggler Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wiggler Posted 18 Mar 2011 , 12:02am
post #6 of 12

I bought a kenwood chef last week , sooooo happy x

ShandraB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile