Mmf Question

Baking By sarahb2004 Updated 19 Mar 2011 , 3:11pm by splymale

sarahb2004 Posted 15 Mar 2011 , 8:04pm
post #1 of 9

Hello everyone!! I have been lurking for a while and love reading these threads so much!! I was wondering if I could get some assistance with a MMF question that I have.

I am a newbie at decorating, and have just done a few cakes here and there. I have been asked to do a Grooms cake in June, so I am practicing as much as I can since this will be my first "big" cake. I tried the MMF recipe last week, and LOVED the consistency compared to the Wilton fondant. Last night I tried to make it again, but added brown coloring to it because the base of my cake needs to be a (darker) brown. I realize now, after I did it, that I should have made a chocolate MMF rather than trying to dye the regular MMF. I am going to try that next week!

Now that I have said all this which is probably pointless (haha!) my question is will the dye actually make the MMF crumble and be drier than regular? It seems that it is almost too dry and is cracking way to much for me to even use. Is there something I can add to it so save it so I dont have to throw it in the trash?

Thank you in advance. Also, if anyone has a link to their favorite chocolate MMF recipe I would appreciate that as well!!!!!

8 replies
hollys_hobby Posted 15 Mar 2011 , 8:23pm
post #2 of 9

typically when I add lots of color, it tends to make my MMF super sticky. If yours is dry and cracking, try kneading in a little crisco. Here is a link to the chocolate MMF I have made in the past: https://docs.google.com/present/view?id=ddhwqp45_0dmxpwbf5

Scarlets-Cakes Posted 15 Mar 2011 , 8:24pm
post #3 of 9