How Do I Charge A Fire Truck Cake Out?

Decorating By jessyummycakes Updated 22 Mar 2011 , 5:03pm by Marianna46

jessyummycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jessyummycakes Posted 15 Mar 2011 , 3:14am
post #1 of 4

Hi, as a newbie and beginner I have been doing many cakes for friends at a very cheap minimum to get practise. I have just been asked to do a fire truck cake for 50 people! I am confident in my skills but how should I charge this? Thanks. icon_smile.gif

3 replies
Marianna46 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Marianna46 Posted 20 Mar 2011 , 8:31pm
post #2 of 4

Well, for one thing, you decorate very nicely, so stop charging practice prices or you'll never get your clients to pay you what you're worth. Ask around to see what fondant-covered cakes are going for in your area (this will usually be a per-portion charge) and start charging accordingly. For example, I charge the equivalent $3.50 (US dollars) per portion, so a cake for 50 would come out at $175. If you're making any little firefighter figures or something that requires a few hours of extra work, I'd charge extra for that. But please don't sell yourself short!

jessyummycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jessyummycakes Posted 22 Mar 2011 , 6:21am
post #3 of 4

Oh Thank you Marianna! I just have absolutely no confidence...I mean I know i am good and its funny, I have never been good at anything in my life! lol....and I absolutely LOVE what I am doing and I do hope to make a business from my decorating. But I feel that I am not good compared to so many others. I do aspire to be perfect!! Thanks again, your kindness and support means so much to me. icon_smile.gif
Oh and I quoted her $160 just before I saw your post. icon_smile.gif

Marianna46 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Marianna46 Posted 22 Mar 2011 , 5:03pm
post #4 of 4