Fondant In The Fridge

Decorating By angshink Updated 12 Mar 2011 , 4:07pm by cowie

angshink Posted 11 Mar 2011 , 7:38pm
post #1 of 12

newbie here. Making a cake for my neice's 13th. The problem is that cake must be made one day ahead of the party and it has cream cheese icing in the layers, and cream cheese buttercream under the fondant. Is it that bad if I make the cake, cover it in fondant and then put it in the fridge the day before the party? I am thinking with the cream cheese icing it has to be kept cool. If I pull it out of the fridge a couple of hours before the party maybe the fondant will warm back up to room temp. for eating? Any thoughts or help EXTREMELY welcome. icon_biggrin.gif

11 replies
nadia0411 Posted 11 Mar 2011 , 8:13pm
post #2 of 12

yes, cream cheese needs to be refrigerated, one tip though for avoiding fondant sweating, use shortening to roll out fondant or a complete non stick mat. dont dust sugar for rolling it out, this will minimize fondant sweating a great deal. Also take it out form fridge a couple of hours and you should be good to go.I also place my cakes under fan or ac to speed up drying the condensation.
HTH

utrwong Posted 11 Mar 2011 , 11:56pm
post #3 of 12

Is it OK to put the buttercream cream cheese frosting on the cake, refridgerate it, then take it out and put the fondnat on? Or should I do it all at once and then refridgerate it? I don't know how to time myself since I have a pretty hectic schedule. I don't have a whole day to decorate the cake, so what I've done in the past was dirty ice, cover in fondant, and then leave it out since it was plain buttercream. Now with cream cheese... is it ok to refridgerate and then cover it w/ fondant? What is the best way to tackle?

Kitagrl Posted 12 Mar 2011 , 12:11am
post #4 of 12