Quick Q About Dream Whip (Stuff In Indydebi's Bc)

Decorating By erin2345 Updated 10 Mar 2011 , 6:59pm by HappyCake10609

erin2345 Posted 10 Mar 2011 , 5:52pm
post #1 of 4

I bought a whole bunch of packages and then put them in a tupperware, so I don't have the packaging anymore - is it dairy free? I am making a daiy free icing and was hoping to use Indydebi's BC (sub the milk for non dairy creamer)

If anyone could check their box and let me know that would be great!

thx

3 replies
luckylibra Posted 10 Mar 2011 , 6:03pm
post #2 of 4

[1] Though the powder is generally classed as non-dairy, it contains sodium caseinate (from milk), and whey. And of course to prepare it, you are supposed to add milk, making the prepared product decidedly dairy.

erin2345 Posted 10 Mar 2011 , 6:36pm
post #3 of 4

thanks! though ... not sure how to procede!! lol

HappyCake10609 Posted 10 Mar 2011 , 6:59pm
post #4 of 4

If you are making a dairy free frosting because of a milk allergy you should no use Dream Whip because the Casein (assuming that's part of the sodium caseinate) and Whey are milk proteins and will cause a reaction. I have had to make dairy free butter cream, I believe I got the recipe from the Wilton site, but it used Meringue powder instead of dream whip. I subbed almond milk for the milk, but have even just used water... Hope that helps!

Quote by @%username% on %date%

%body%