18Th Birthday Cake Question? I Need Help Please??

Decorating By ttorfin Updated 12 Mar 2011 , 3:42am by cheatize

ttorfin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ttorfin Posted 10 Mar 2011 , 4:23pm
post #1 of 15

I'm new to cake decorating. I am making a 3 tiered sqaure cake. I had originally planned on a 16" bottom, 10" middle and 8" top. Now I've realized that I need to make two of each of these in order to make each tier layered with cream cheese frosting between, that is A LOT of cake. So far I have baked the one of each, however I'm thinking about cutting down my 16" to a 10" and going from there instead. (so it would be two 10" as the base, two 8" as the middle and two 4" as the top. I have two questions:
1. Is it a good idea to cut down my 16" layer to a 10" or will that cause too many crumbs to deal with?

2. I'm baking today, frosting tomorrow, and decorating and delivering to my niece the next day. I'm not sure how to keep the cakes moist, fresh, but not wet or soggy from refridgeration or freezing.

I NEED BIG HELP PLEASE???

14 replies
by_mommamee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
by_mommamee Posted 10 Mar 2011 , 4:57pm
post #2 of 15

i'm fairly new too but here are my thoughts...if number of servings is not an issue, cutting down the 16" to a 10" shouldn't be a problem...crumb coating will do the trick...i usually bake on day 1, frost and decorate on day 2 and deliver on day 3...my cake does not need anything to keep it moist...that would depend on the recipe you use...you can always use simple syrup (equal parts of sugar and water boiled and cooled down) to make sure it's moist (before crumb coating)...i've only done fondant cakes so the freezing and refrigerating part only happens before the decorating...not sure on non fondant ones....

KASCARLETT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KASCARLETT Posted 10 Mar 2011 , 5:06pm
post #3 of 15