How Do I Make A Cake With Diamond Shapes And Get It Even??

Decorating By dholdenrn Updated 27 Feb 2012 , 2:56pm by sillywabbitz

dholdenrn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dholdenrn Posted 10 Mar 2011 , 1:59am
post #1 of 7

I have a cake to do Saturday that has the diamond shapes covering two tiers. HELP! I have never done those before and I want to make sure I do them right?? Any advice?? icon_biggrin.gif

6 replies
HaydenSC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HaydenSC Posted 10 Mar 2011 , 2:29am
post #2 of 7

Use math. For ease of explanation, say you have a diamond cutter that is 1.5 inches wide and 2 inches tall. Your tier is 4 inches tall and it is 12 inches around. You would need 16 diamonds.
If it comes out unevenly, sometimes you have to fudge it a little in the back. Space some out a little bit more than the others. It is a challenge, but a little planning will help you tremendously!

sweetcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetcakes Posted 10 Mar 2011 , 3:55am
post #3 of 7

and if yu dont have any diamond cutters purchase a set of square cutters, sold at all the craft stores and then squash them into diamond shapes.

Kitagrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kitagrl Posted 10 Mar 2011 , 4:09am
post #4 of 7

The best one is that triple diamond cutter but I guess the cake is due too soon...but for next time...I find its the easiest one to line up.

And then you just go back over it with a tool to make the lines a bit deeper.

NFL Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NFL Posted 10 Mar 2011 , 4:57am
post #5 of 7