Upside Down Icing Technique

Decorating By Freyde Updated 23 Mar 2011 , 7:36pm by zespri

Freyde Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Freyde Posted 9 Mar 2011 , 8:12pm
post #1 of 9

i have been looking for videos on the net on upside down icing method but couldnt seem to find any...does anyone of any?? Is this method much easier?? i want to try this out but im abit worried about flipping the cake.. icon_surprised.gificon_surprised.gif

8 replies
cakedout Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakedout Posted 9 Mar 2011 , 9:19pm
post #2 of 9

I've tried this once on a small cake and it works. I just don't use it on a regular basis because I don't use an icing like this.

Anywho- go to the SEARCH section and put in Upside Down Technique...or go to the recipe section and in the Techniques section there is a tutorial posted by Jackie. I'd post the link, but I'm not good at figuring out how to do that! icon_confused.gif

HTH

bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 9 Mar 2011 , 9:37pm
post #3 of 9

I've done Oriental Stringwork which involves flipping a cake upside down, but I only do that with a 3 inch solid (no filling) cake. Otherwise... well, you can imagine. There's an article here on CC about this method.

yums Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yums Posted 9 Mar 2011 , 9:51pm
post #4 of 9

I have done this method with a 10" cake with no problems. I refrigerate my cakes so they are pretty solid.

q2wheels Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
q2wheels Posted 10 Mar 2011 , 4:42pm
post #5 of 9

There is a step by step article here on CC (no video):

http://cakecentral.com/articles/69/upside-down-icing-technique-for-perfectly-smooth-icing

I've done it with squares, round and 1/2 sheet (12"x18")...worked really well for me.

HTH,

Toni Ann

Jeff_Arnett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeff_Arnett Posted 11 Mar 2011 , 5:57pm
post #6 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freyde