From Cakes To Soap

Lounge By MommaLlama Updated 27 Mar 2011 , 4:33am by corpsequeen

MommaLlama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MommaLlama Posted 9 Mar 2011 , 2:25am
post #1 of 19

It turns out that soap making and cake decorating aren't too different. I still get to use fabulous smelling stuff and I use a mixing bowl/pot. Add that to bright colors and lot and lots of supplies/toys and the hobbies are very similar. Any other cakers turned soapers? or anyone who does both?

18 replies
TX_girl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TX_girl Posted 18 Mar 2011 , 4:30pm
post #2 of 19

Me! I'm a newb though. I started making goat milk soap last year and hope to start again when 'ole Tri-Pod freshens (yes, we have a three-legged goat named Tri-Pod).

I haven't made anything fancy, just bars of soap with essential oils and, more often than not, dried herbs in them. icon_smile.gif

MommaLlama Posted 18 Mar 2011 , 5:02pm
post #3 of 19

Oh, I really want to try goat milk soap next! I've made Lavender and coffee (coffee as the liquid), and about a thousand others, I love making soap. I haven't done a cake in a while now, but I am doing a wedding cake on April 8th. Check out my new soap website and tell me what you think. FancyThatSoap.com

TX_girl Posted 19 Mar 2011 , 7:38pm
post #4 of 19

Nice site! thumbs_up.gif I like the colors and that it's nice and bright and doesn't feel cluttered.
I really like the marbled look of the Bergamot-lemon soap. I haven't tried to do anything fancy like that yet.
I never knew pumpkin was good for skin. Did you replace some of the liquid with pumpkin puree, or?

Goat milk is great, you'll love it!
Coffee-oatmeal soap is one of my favorites so far. I used instant coffee so that I could still use the goat milk as liquid and I put the oatmeal in right before I poured it into the molds so that it was blended into smaller pieces, but still large enough to see/feel.