How Do I Win A Beginner Award At A Cake Show?

Decorating By motherbird7 Updated 8 Mar 2011 , 11:52pm by Elcee

motherbird7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
motherbird7 Posted 8 Mar 2011 , 8:07pm
post #1 of 11

I am new to cake decorating, and this amazing forum. I made my first cake in January of this year and just completed my First Wilton class. I want to primarily bring joy to family and friends but they are easily impressed! I thought it would be more challenging and help me improve my skills to enter a cake show. There is one near me at the end of the month. I was hoping someone with experience could help me understand where to focus my practice and preparation so I can be proud of what I enter. Whether I end up with a ribbon or not doesn't matter to me as much as aiming for it.

Thanks!

10 replies
pinkpiggie78 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinkpiggie78 Posted 8 Mar 2011 , 8:20pm
post #2 of 11

I entered my first year of decorating as well. I really can't say what the judges look for and what weighs heavier than other things, but there are usually several categories that they judge you on.... such as neatness, use of color, and overall appearance. Just make something you want to make and don't think someone would want and/or pay for.

Herekittykitty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Herekittykitty Posted 8 Mar 2011 , 9:14pm
post #3 of 11

The first time I entered a contest I just entered... something. I tried my best on it but had no idea what to expect. After that I had an idea of what to focus on based on the winners.

The judges for that contese looked at:
Taste
Overall Appearance
Design
Technique

nicoles0419 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nicoles0419 Posted 8 Mar 2011 , 9:42pm
post #4 of 11

I did a unique cake when I entered mine, a sandwich and when I droped my cake off I noticed all the other cakes were "wedding" looking caked 3 teir with flowers, I got 2nd place but I could tell they wanted pretty cakes rather than unique cakes