A Little Advice From The Pros?

Business By stephaniejoy Updated 8 Mar 2011 , 12:12am by stephaniejoy

stephaniejoy Posted 7 Mar 2011 , 8:33pm
post #1 of 6

Hello and thank you in advance for your advice... I am fairly new to cake design, I baked my first cake last fall and fell in love with it! I have always been artistic and have a professional background in graphic design, and working with sugar and flour has become a whole new medium to create in. My question is, how do I go from hobby to professional? I have gotten such amazing feedback from bakers and non-bakers, all saying I should own my own shop or be on TV (LOL), which really pumps me up. I've even had one of my cakes chosen to be in a cake magazine coming out soon.

I've been baking out of my home kitchen for family, friends and acquaintances, but I live in CA and cannot legally bake for profit from my home. I have looked into some co-op kitchens, but the closest ones are all the way across town, or charge $50 per hour, which would pretty much wipe out my profit. I wouldn't mind working for a bakery or being contracted by a baker to design, but again, it seems like all the bakeries hiring right now are at least an hour away ( I live in the South Bay area).

Is it out of line to send inquiries to local bakeries to see if they need help? Or to ask if they'd consider renting space?

I really love designing 3D and sculpture cakes, and I feel if I got a job at a large retail grocery store, I would become disinterested quite quickly.

So, any words of advice from someone who's been in my shoes or may have any ideas to get from hobby to professional? Please feel free to look at my work, and critique.

Thanks everyone, you all are so wonderful and supportive!

5 replies
AmysCakesNCandies Posted 7 Mar 2011 , 8:51pm
post #2 of 6