For Keepsakes, How Hard Is 50/50 Vs. Straight Gumpaste?

Decorating By Blue94 Updated 5 Mar 2011 , 8:24pm by DianeLM

Blue94 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Blue94 Posted 5 Mar 2011 , 4:33pm
post #1 of 7

I have been culling through the archives on and off for weeks to figure this question out and haven't seen a definitive answer yet.

If I want to create sculpted figures that will last as keepsakes long after the cakes are devoured (I saved the pretty roses from the top of my 1998 wedding cake and framed them in a shadow box - they still look just as great as they did that day), would a 50/50 mix of fondant and gumpaste harden and keep as well as straight gumpaste?

I am new to working with gumpaste after a course at our local Johnson & Wales U. (I discovered I had a hidden talent for sculpting after taking pics of and posting to facebook the Crayola Model Magic figures I was creating during art time around our kitchen table with my little ones - LOL!) I'm finding the cracking a bit frustrating, as well as the effort to get the colors where I want them, plus I work fairly slowly because everything is entirely hand-sculpted (little use of cutters, etc.), so I'm wondering if I could solve those issues by mixing in pre-colored fondant? If a 50/50 mix is only slightly harder than fondant and not great for saving, I guess I need to stick to gumpaste and keep working on my speed and coloring technique.

I suppose I should also ask if going the route of mixing pre-colored fondants (like pre-colored Satin Ice) with tylose would be another, equally good solution for making keepsake-sturdy toppers.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and advice. icon_smile.gif I'm still in the playing around and experimenting stage, but I thought it would be prudent to collect the wisdom of those who have significant experience.

6 replies
Iggy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Iggy Posted 5 Mar 2011 , 4:49pm
post #2 of 7