Fondx And Fondant Mats

Decorating By nydivagirl Updated 3 Sep 2011 , 11:35pm by MollyHammond

nydivagirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nydivagirl Posted 5 Mar 2011 , 2:22am
post #1 of 12

Has anyone ever tried FondX from Caljava online? Does it work well, how is the taste and textured of the fondant? Has anyone every used the fondant mat from this online site as well. I want to purchase FondX or the Elite colored fondant as I would like to start working with fondant. I understand that this fondant is suppose to be a little softer than regular fondant. I want to tried to make flowers as well so I need to know if anyone has every used FondX along with the fondant mat. I want to purchase these products, but I am not sure as I am new to cake baking. Thanks for anyone's help in advance!

11 replies
ibmoser Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ibmoser Posted 5 Mar 2011 , 1:36pm
post #2 of 12

I have not yet tried the Elite, but I like regular FondX very much. It is soft, smooth, and more "neutral" in taste than some. I'm not sure which mat you are referring to, but if it is The Mat by SweetWise, it works well with regular FondX.

Brenda1219 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Brenda1219 Posted 5 Mar 2011 , 2:19pm
post #3 of 12

I bought the mat from SweetWise and I love it. It made rolling fondant, and I use both buttercream and marshmallow, easier than anything I have ever done. I liked it so much I bought one for my mother-in-law for the 4H class she teaches.

Peridot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Peridot Posted 6 Mar 2011 , 1:06am
post #4 of 12

I have also used Fondx (the regular stuff) and really like it alot. Easy to work with and easy to color also. I have the mat from SweetWise and I love it, works like a charm with Fondx. I am going to be switching to Fondx as the one fondant I will use as soon as the stuff that I now have is gone.