How Do I Make A Cupcake Cake?

Decorating By ELU267 Updated 22 Jan 2007 , 5:12pm by Elfie

ELU267 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ELU267 Posted 21 Jan 2007 , 2:55pm
post #1 of 10

The cupcake cakes look so cute and I'm wondering how it is done... I'm a total novice so any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

9 replies
stephanie214 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stephanie214 Posted 21 Jan 2007 , 3:09pm
post #2 of 10

Welcome to CC icon_biggrin.gif

You arrange the cupcakes on a cake board in any shape that you choose. Apply some icing under the bottom of the outside cupcakes to hold them in place.

Apply your icing coverage, smooth your icing the way that you normally do and proceed with the decorating.

I love doing cupcake cakes...very quick and easy icon_biggrin.gif

Elfie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elfie Posted 21 Jan 2007 , 4:02pm
post #3 of 10

The one time I made a cupcake cake I didn't put any frosting on the bottom, because I was afraid the girls would get it all over the place when they picked the cakes up. The cake held together fine, without any sliding. Turns out it was a silly concern-instead they got all the frosting from the tops of the cakes all over the house. Luckily it wasn't my house icon_twisted.gif !

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 21 Jan 2007 , 9:14pm
post #4 of 10

Cupcake Cake Tutorials
Thread on frosting CCC
How to Fill Cupcakes:

http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-57413-.html

More CCC threads
How to Transport
Cupcake Stand Ideas:

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-57467-.html

HTH

vww104 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vww104 Posted 22 Jan 2007 , 1:11am
post #5 of 10

When arranging the cupcakes make sure you stagger them to avoid holes in between the cupcakes, otherwise the icing will fall through the holes. I also love cupcake cakes and I have a few in my photos.

Derby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Derby Posted 22 Jan 2007 , 1:18am
post #6 of 10