Baking 14'' And 16'' Cake And Not Getting Done In The Middle

Baking By Bri83 Updated 5 Mar 2011 , 4:36am by platinumlady

Bri83 Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 11:20pm
post #1 of 9

I'm a newbie caker, and i made a 14'' round cake that was 3'' deep. I used the silver wraps on the outside and the metal cylinder in the middle.
The suggested cooking time was 55 min at 325. I just used boxed cake and followed the ingredient instructions on the box.
Why does the cake take almost 1 hr 20 min to cook AND it still fell a little and seemed not quite down on one side....
Maybe i need to do a scratch recipe? or a converted box recipe
Maybe my stove can't handle a 3'' deep pan?
any help would be wonderful since i love to use the larger cakes for bases icon_smile.gif

8 replies
cabecakes Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 11:47pm
post #2 of 9