Large Cakes

Baking By Natalie777 Updated 4 Mar 2011 , 2:21pm by Natalie777

Natalie777 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Natalie777 Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 2:08am
post #1 of 11

icon_cry.gif been asked to make large cake for a party, but every time i take a normal recipe and triple the ingredients, it is a total flop. has anybody out there got a recipe for me?Or any other suggestions as i am pretty new at this. Pleeeaaase help.

10 replies
pattycakesnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattycakesnj Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 2:17am
post #2 of 11

I often triple or more a recipe without a problem. What is happening with your cakes?

zespri Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
zespri Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 2:18am
post #3 of 11

in what way is it a flop?

tracey1970 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracey1970 Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 2:33am
post #4 of 11

I often double/triple a cake recipe without issue - ? Have you tried the full-sized recipe for the White Almond Sour Cream cake found on here? It makes a large amount of batter, it has always worked for me, and it can be flavoured with chocolate and other flavours if you don't want a white cake.

jade8 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jade8 Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 2:54am
post #5 of 11

im just thinking out loud here but if your recipe is from scratch it may be the baking powder. i read in the cake bible when making larger cakes, you need to adjust the baking powder accordingly because there is a larger surface area.

Natalie777 Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 11:37am
post #6 of 11

bottom and sides are burning while the middle is barely done. and when i try and cut the sides away the cake is just crumbling which makes it very hard to dirty ice. i need a recipe that is delicious(of course) but is sturdy enough to be covered in fondant and stacked. all help and suggestions are greatly appreciated guys..thanks. icon_cry.gif

tracey1970 Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 12:43pm
post #7 of 11