Have You Left A High Paying Job To Pursue A Career In Cakes?

Business By pandakakes Updated 5 Mar 2011 , 2:15pm by Stephy42088

pandakakes Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 1:44am
post #1 of 15

I'm a beginner cake maker. I love it. I love it so much that my current job just doesn't seem satisfactory. I'm only 23 but I have a degree and a really good job. I know that I would probably make only about half (if that) of my current salary if I pursued cake making. I just bought a house and the idea of not having my current income is stressful.
Has anybody out there left a high paying job for cake making knowing that they were going to lose income? Did you find that you found what you were looking for?

14 replies
misscrazy4cakes Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 1:58am
post #2 of 15

Do you have a very large customer base at the moment?

buttercuppie Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 2:03am
post #3 of 15

I did...I use to work in advertising, had just gotten my masters degree and was up for a promotion when I quit. While it definitely has been rewarding in pursuing what I love, it also helped that I'm single, can crash with my parents, and have no kids.

That being said, if I had more responsiblities I may not have done it because it can take over your life and drain your bank account REALLY quick.

The advice I would give you is to count up all the costs, determine what's best (even if that means waiting a few years before you quit) and whatever you do, don't make any rash decisions...

HTH icon_biggrin.gif

pattycakesnj Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 2:07am
post #4 of 15

I make 1/10 of what I used to make, went from high powered attorney to cake designer, but am much happier. (But I can afford the pay cut since I have a huge pension from my previous career)

andreamen1 Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 2:20am
post #5 of 15

Sometimes you just have to take a chance or else your never know!!!

pandakakes Posted 4 Mar 2011 , 4:21am
post #6 of 15