If Nothing Else, I'm Honing My Brainwashing Techniques ...

Decorating By emiyeric Updated 3 Mar 2011 , 6:45pm by joanmary

emiyeric Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emiyeric Posted 3 Mar 2011 , 4:10pm
post #1 of 8

So, my usual complaint: I'm a hobbyist, I offer to make cakes for my friends' special occasions, and then I end up having a wiggle my way out of making the exact same cake I've done 43 times before because they saw a picture of it and little Jimmy wants "THAT CAKE, EXACTLY THAT SAME CAKE". For the record, I HATE repeating cakes. I have no need to develop an easy design and repeat it because this is not a business venture for me, I really like experimenting with new techniques (or at least new approaches to techniques, or new looks) with each of my cakes, and it's really just a creative outlet for me. And I've moaned about this before, and had people (very appropriately!) tell me that I shouldn't have to do what my friends ask for because they are not paying customers and this is a gift ... and I get all that, but it's hard sometimes icon_smile.gif.
Case in point! A good friend of ours calls me yesterday with her highschool son sitting next to her, both so incredibly excited and ebullient, telling me how much they appreciate my offer to make his graduation cake in a couple of months, and how they saw the PERFECT cake for it (which, naturally, is the same cake that everybody has done a million times; very pretty/cute, but nothing new or daring or innovative in any way). I have some AWESOME ideas that I've run by them, but I just don't think they can visualize it and they just don't get the awesomness of it, hehe icon_wink.gif. They just kind of have this blank silence, and try to reconcile my idea with theirs, basically taking the wrong (ie NON-UNIQUE) elements out of my idea to make it fit into theirs.