Dummy Tier In A Wedding Cake, Advice Please

Decorating By Lori2240 Updated 6 Apr 2011 , 4:24am by indydebi

Lori2240 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lori2240 Posted 1 Mar 2011 , 4:47pm
post #1 of 18

A good friend just asked me to do their wedding cake. I know they need to keep their cost low (I will find out how low this weekend when we talk). So I am thinking of a few ways to keep costs down for her. I have never used a dummy before but was thinking of suggesting using a dummy tier (for ex: 1 dummy in a 3 tier) and the rest sheet cakes. I thought it could lower costs of ingredients and since I have 3 boys 3 and under the thought of decorating a tier way in advance is very appealing. Does this sound like a good idea or not? Also, if I did the bottom layer (say a 14 in) dummy at the bottom, is that bad because that is what couples customarily cut in front of everyone? Thanks for any advice!

17 replies
imagenthatnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imagenthatnj Posted 1 Mar 2011 , 5:14pm
post #2 of 18

There are the ones with the "real slice of cake" inserted at the bottom.

http://artofdessert.blogspot.com/2008/12/have-your-cake-and-eat-it-too-fake.html

That's an idea. Or you could do the middle tier fake. But I know that probably won't save you a lot of cake.

dsilvest Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dsilvest Posted 1 Mar 2011 , 5:34pm
post #3 of 18

If you don't want to use the dummy with the spot for a real piece of cake you can place a slice of cake and 2 forks behind your large cake and that is what can be served to each other. My couples do this all of the time and no one is ever the wiser. This method if far less expensive and you can make the bottom tier well ahead of time and just cover it lightly in plastic. You won't have as much last minute stress with you little ones.

platinumlady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
platinumlady Posted 1 Mar 2011 , 5:38pm
post #4 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by imagenthatnj