My First Complaint

Decorating By JGMB Updated 12 Apr 2011 , 3:11am by Buttercream_warrior

JGMB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JGMB Posted 1 Mar 2011 , 3:25pm
post #1 of 16

I'm not a professional baker, but I do make cakes for people in exchange for a check to my favorite charity. I've done this for a year and a half now, and finally just got my first pricing complaint today.

The head of our church choir asked me to make a chocolate cake with chocolate frosting to feed 50 people. I did a scratch-made 14" square decorated with bright colors as she requested. I asked for $100.

Here's the e-mail I just now got:
The cake was absolutely wonderful! I heard many voices around the room, Oh, that Julie isnt she something? Oh its a Julie cake, of course its so good! Lots of comments like that. Thank you so much!

I would like to be truly honest about something else, too, though -- the price threw me. I thought it would be closer to the $50 range. Totally my fault for not asking before ordering! I just thought Id mention it to keep us totally above board.

I feel like the wind's been taken out of my sails or that I've been punched in the stomach! I used real butter, real vanilla, whipping cream, Ghirardelli chocolate and even delivered it -- plus, she can write it off on her taxes as a charitable donation.

I guess I won't let it bother me, but I can't believe she thought my huge cake and all that work was worth $50!!!

15 replies
wiggler Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wiggler Posted 1 Mar 2011 , 3:45pm
post #2 of 16

Try not to let it bother you !
People seem to have no clue how much it costs to make a cake . Im still baking as a hobby and give my cakes to people as presents . They say the are great and then sometimes they tell me I should be doing this professionally . When I tell them how much I would have to sell one of my cakes for they are generally shocked
Your cake sounded yummy by the way

cakesdivine Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile