Edible Glitter On Dark Fondant...

Decorating By paula0712 Updated 5 Mar 2011 , 4:24am by bakingkat

paula0712 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
paula0712 Posted 28 Feb 2011 , 6:04pm
post #1 of 12

Ok, I am doing a wedding cake and the bride just asked me if I could use edible glitter on her chocolate brown fondant cake. I have never used it before and I'm just wondering if a)it will even show up and b)how do I get it on the sides of the cake. I've tried searching and the error code keeps coming up. If anyone has done this can you send me a pic? Thank you!

PS - I took a small piece of fondant and tried painting the glitter on with a small brush and it just falls off... tried wetting the fondant first and it turns the glitter into a big yucky gob of it...

11 replies
BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 28 Feb 2011 , 8:49pm
post #2 of 12

I've had some luck getting the edible glitter to stick using a thin coat of crisco or spraying the fondant with some high alcohol content clear drinking alcohol (I use EverClear, but I'd think white rum, gin, or vodka would be OK, too).

With the alcohol, when it dries, some of the extra edible glitter will fall off, but a good coating remains.

I think the only way to get it onto vertical surfaces is to throw it or pat it onto the surface. You could also put some in your hand and use a small bulb syringe (the blue kind you use for babies' ears works well) to blow it onto the cake.

Kudos for using edible glitter and not INEDIBLE disco dust!!

HTH
Rae

paula0712 Posted 28 Feb 2011 , 10:01pm
post #3 of 12

thanks Rae! Now I have another question... what color do I use? lol

BlakesCakes Posted 28 Feb 2011 , 10:09pm
post #4 of 12

Well, if you want to just make it sparkle (and not add any color), I'd think that brown would be nice. You could use any of the colors, depending on the effect you want.