Rkt Monkey Cake...ugh!! :(

Decorating By peacelovecakes Updated 13 Mar 2011 , 8:55pm by cabecakes

peacelovecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peacelovecakes Posted 28 Feb 2011 , 5:35pm
post #1 of 5

I had a 2 tier cake for a 1st birthday that I did this weekend and the monkey started falling off the cake an smashing it in...I thought it wouldn't weigh it down since rkt are so light but I guess maybe it needed a card board base to sit on...it had a dowel rod though it. it was suppose to have brown hair as well but fell over as I was about to put it on the cake so I had to wash it off and leave him pink even though all his accessories were brown...Also I had a problem with my polka dots sliding down the cake...I am new to mmf so maybe that's it but I have never had a problem with that! Everyone said it was amazing but It was a huge disaster to me.

4 replies
LaurenLuLu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaurenLuLu Posted 28 Feb 2011 , 5:44pm
post #2 of 5

Throw something? icon_cry.gif

BREN28 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BREN28 Posted 28 Feb 2011 , 5:57pm
post #3 of 5

it's frustrating,i know,but we learn from our mistakes. just keep trying! i usually use a cake board cut down to size if have a rkt structure to put on top of my cake. rkt can be heavy depending on how big your structure is.
i also use a couple of dowels underneath it to support the weight of the rkt's.

peacelovecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peacelovecakes Posted 28 Feb 2011 , 5:59pm
post #4 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaurenLuLu

Throw something? icon_cry.gif

I so wanted to! I freaked out! icon_sad.gif Not to Thrilled but I will try again!

cabecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cabecakes Posted 13 Mar 2011 , 8:55pm
post #5 of 5